How to manage a contact
- Available to:
- All users
- Plans:
- Free, Essentials, Professional, Standard, Teams with SSO add-on, and Enterprise
Stay organized by editing contact details, managing communication preferences, reviewing meeting history, or removing contacts you no longer need.
Use this guide to manage your contacts in Calendly.
Edit a contact
You can update contact details inline from the table view or the contact detail page.
Inline

- Go to the Contacts page.
- Select or double-click the detail you want to edit.
- Enter the updated information.
Note
A contact’s name or email address cannot be edited directly from the table. You can update a contact’s name or email from the contact detail page.
From the contact detail page
- Go to the Contacts page.
- Select a contact to open the detail page.
- Select the pencil icon next to the contact's name.
- Update the full name.
- Select Save changes when you're done.
When you update the full name, Calendly automatically updates the first and last name fields.
Tip
Reorder your contacts table columns by selecting a column header and dragging it to a new location. You cannot move the Name column.
Set a contact's primary email address
For contacts with more than one email, let Calendly know where to send Workflows and other emails.
- Go to the Contacts page.
- Select a contact to open the detail page.
- Select the pencil icon next to the contact's name.
- Locate the preferred email and select the star next to it.
- Select Save changes.
Note
Changing the primary email updates any connected Workflows and all future scheduled meetings.
Review a contact's activity
- Go to the Contacts page.
- Select the contact you want to view to open the contact detail page.
- View past meetings with your contact.
Merge contacts
- Go to the Contacts page.
- Select the 2 contacts you want to merge.
- Select Merge at the bottom of the page.
- Choose the details you want to keep from each contact.
- Note: A contact can have up to 10 email addresses and 10 phone numbers.
- Star the primary email you want to use for sending emails, sharing availability, booking meetings, and managing Workflows or reminders.
- Select Merge contacts.
Important
Only the details you select will be saved, including email and meeting history. After you merge contacts, you can’t undo it.